Kristian Birkeland Lecturers

To commemorate Birkeland's great achievements in technology, applied physics, and basic research—the
Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Science at the University of Oslo, in cooperation with
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and Norsk Hydro, has inaugurated a lecture series called
The Kristian Birkeland Lecture.


1987, Auroral Research in Scandinavia Hannes Alfvén, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden and University of California, San Diego, CA, USA
1987, Auroral Research in Scandinavia A. Egeland, Department of Physics, University of Oslo, Norway
1988, "I have it"; Birkeland's quest for research funding. A. Dessler, Department of Astronomy and Physics, Rice University, Houston, TX, USA
1989, Satellite measurements of Birkeland Currents Thomas A. Potemra, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, Laurel, MD, USA
1989, Birkeland's work with geomagnetic disturbance's in relation to modern research N. Fukushima,  
1990, On the future of space science and applications James A. Van Allen, University of Iowa,
1991, Helio-magnetism S.-I. Akasofu, Director, Geophysical Institute, Alaska, USA
1992, The origin of cosmic rays Sir Ian Axford, Director, Max-Planck Institut für Aeronomie, Germany
1993, Sun-earth energy transfer T. Oguti, Director, Solar Terrestrial Environment Laboratory, Nagoya University; Department of Earth and Planetary Physics, University of Tokyo  
1994, The Solar wind—Magnetosphere-Ionosphere connection S. W. H. Conley, Imperial College, England  
1995, The legacy of Birkeland's plasma torch Anthony L. Peratt, University of California, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM, USA; United States Department of Energy, Washington, DC, USA